Internet Background Check

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Question: What are the hours of operation?

Internet hours: 7 days a week, 24 hours a day (including holiday). The website will not be available from 7:00 am to 4:00 pm on Sunday for system maintenance.

Office Hours: Monday thru Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. (excluding holidays)
The fingerprint room closes precisely at 4:00 p.m.; it is best to arrive no later than 3:45 p.m. If prints were requested, please bring the print request letter.

Question: What are your fees?

Fingerprint Fee $10
State Background Check $26
State / FBI Background Check** $42.50

**This service is only provided for agencies that are authorized by law to receive FBI information and is not available via internet

Question: What form of payment is accepted?

Via Internet: Visa, Master Card, Discover and American Express
Main Office/Mail: Cashier’s Check, Money Order or Business Check.

Question: Who is authorized to receive a background request?

Louisiana is a closed record state and our office only conducts background requests for agencies that are authorized to receive that information under RS 15:587. Louisiana State Police/Criminal Records is not authorized to conduct a background request for immigration,litigations, residential/apartments, out of state housing authority, work visa or for personal use.
Out of state Employers may request background checks on their Employees. You will receive conviction information only.
Out of state Adoption Agencies may request background checks on prospective adoptive couples or foster parents. You will receive any arrest and conviction information.
*Please note: the Internet Background search is not available to any agency that is mandated by law to provide fingerprints. The fingerprints, application forms and payment must be mailed or dropped off to our office for processing.

Question: What forms should our agency use?

Two forms are required per request. All agencies must use the Authorization form, but the disclosure form will depend on the type of agency and request. Anyone working with children should use the RAP disclosure form (daycare worker, summer camp, youth counselor etc). If the agency is a Healthcare provider and the employee is not licensed, the Rap Disclosure form should be used (CNA, PCA, Housekeeping etc). (If the person/employer is licensed, the General Disclosure form is required (Registered Nurse, Doctors, LPN etc). All out of state companies that are authorized to receive the information should use the General Disclosure form. The forms are available @

Please note: Both forms must be completed, in ink, by both the agency and the applicant. Keep a copy of your request for your records.

Question: What is the processing time for a background request?

Internet Request: If there is “no record” you should receive a response within
24 hrs. If fingerprints are requested the response will have to
be handled manually and may take approximately 15-21 business days .
Mail Order Request: After payment is entered into our system, you should receive
a response on a name based request in 5-7 business days. A
fingerprint based request should receive a response in 21
business days.

Question: What is a name check?

A name check is a request searched by the descriptive information provided.
The information includes name, race/sex, date of birth, social security number and
driver’s license number. Please ensure the information is legible and accurate.

Question: Why were my prints returned?

Prints are returned for many reasons. The prints could be too dark, too light, not fully rolled, smudged, and hands or fingers may be switched. If the prints are returned, the applicant should be reprinted by representative from the local law
enforcement office and both sets of prints should be returned with all of the
attached papers. Additional payment is not needed at that time.

Question: Where is my background request?

Our office conducts background requests for many different agencies. All requests are processed in the date order in which they are received. Depending on the type of background check, we may need to request additional information from an outside agency. This may cause a delay in the processing of an application. Our agency cannot complete a background request until this information has been thoroughly researched.

Question: Will this background request include information from other states?

No. A background check by name only searches the State of Louisiana. If the
applicant has lived outside of Louisiana, we recommend your agency contact that
state as well.

Question: What type of response will I get?

Internet Request-You will get 1 of 3 responses.
A-No disqualifying information was found.
B-Fingerprints are needed for verification.
C-We have received your request but are experiencing a delay in processing

Question: Why are prints requested if a name check is submitted?

Prints are the only accurate means to determine whether or not the information
found during the name search belongs to that particular applicant.

Question: What is meant by “Delay in Processing”?

Delay in Processing could mean a number of different things. It is
possible there is a system problem. It could be that we have had to
request information from an outside agency. It may mean the record is not
automated and requires manual intervention. It is possible, after receiving a Delay
in Processing notice, you could still receive a “No Record “ response once the
request has been reviewed.

Question: How can I get a copy of my criminal record?

An Individual may obtain a true copy of their criminal history by requesting a “Right to Review”.
In Person at this office: (7919 Independence Blvd, Baton Rouge, LA)
You will need to bring a $26 money order, cashier’s check or business check for processing and a $10 money order, cashier’s check or business check for fingerprinting, both made out to the Dept of Public Safety (cash or personal checks will not be accepted). You will need to have a valid state issued ID or Drivers License. This service is available Monday thru Friday (excluding holidays) from 8:00 am to 3:30 pm. If you arrive before 3:00 pm you may wait and take your certified copy of the response with you but if you arrive after 3:00 pm your response will be mailed to you or you may return the next business day and pick it up.
By mail:
You must mail a set of fingerprints, an authorization form, a rap disclosure form (these forms must include the individuals complete name and address and they are available online at and a $26 money order, cashier’s check or business check (cash or personal checks will not be accepted) payable to the Dept of Public Safety to:
Bureau of Criminal Identification
P.O. Box 66614 Mail Slip A-6
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
Please Note: This mail process takes approx 15-21 business days from the time the payment is entered into our receipt system.

Question: How can an agency expedite a background request?

Internet based name checks - authorized agencies can utilize LAAPPS and submit their information via the internet and receive a response instantaneously provided there is no criminal history information. Electronic submissions – applicant must report to our office with completed paperwork, $10 fingerprint fee and $26 or $42.50 background check fee *Note: Payment may be in the form of a cashier’s check, money order or business check. Fingerprints will be submitted electronically and you will receive a response within 3 to 5 business days provided there is no criminal history information.